Music I Bought In the 1st Quarter of 2012

by coldglass

Weissensee – Sternrekorder
Treats – Sleigh Bells
Black Eden – Endura
Teenage Color – College
The Best Damn Thing – Avril Lavigne
Give ‘Em Enough Rope – The Clash
Exile In Guyville – Liz Phair
Escape From Earth – Thomas Barrandon
Sucker Punch – Various
Entroducing. . . – DJ Shadow

Are we really a quarter of the way through the year already? When did that happen?1
Only just occurred to me that these are all digital releases; I can’t remember the last time I bought a CD, other than picking up cheap compilations in Tesco to listen to in the car. I still like having a physical object, but finding space for them is a problem. A problem I went too far in fixing it seems, Give ‘Em Enough Rope and Exile In Guyville I used to have on CD but can’t find anymore. They must have gotten accidentally taken to Oxfam when I was having a clear out last year. I notice from the Avril Lavigne2 artwork that they’ve managed to replicate those ‘Parental Advisory’ stickers in the digital realm. Exile In Guyville achieved a similar level of irritation by including [Explicit Content] in the album and track titles until I went through the tags in iTunes. Actually, [Explicit Content] wouldn’t have been a bad name for the album. Several tracks on Entroducing . . . have been used so often in trendy documentaries that listening to the album is like being inside BBC4. My interest in European retro-synth music continues, largely due to Valerie Collective. Now that I finally hear it, Endura is as doom-laden and epic as I thought it would be when I picked up that CD all those years ago. Sleigh Bells are LOUD, which is good except when you’re listening on headphones and they come on unexpectedly. The Sucker Punch3 OST is rather good, mostly sort of spaced-out covers of psychedelic classics and a great version of Search & Destroy by Skunk Anansie.

——

1 April 1st, obviously.
2 Look, just shut up, alright?
3 A good, if flawed, film.

